The Law Faculty of the CASS Graduate School


The Institute of Law began to provide graduate education in the 1950s. The Law Faculty of CASS Graduate School was founded in 1978 to train high-level legal researchers and practitioners. Since its establishment, the Faculty, through the hard work of its staff members, has trained a large number of talents for the state and the society. Some of them have become famous scholars, experts, excellent judges, prosecutors, lawyers and entrepreneurs.

The Law Faculty relies on the Institute of Law for its discipline construction, teaching, development of teaching materials, research and daily administration work. As one of the first doctoral units of legal science authorized by the Degree Committee of the State Council, it awards doctoral degree in the following nine academic disciplines: legal theory, legal history, constitutional and administrative law, criminal law, procedure law, civil and commercial law, economic law, environmental and resource protection law, and international law. The Faculty also awards master's degree in all the ten second-grade disciplines, and in 2005 and 2007, was authorized to award master's degree in two additional second-grade disciplines set up by the Faculty itself: media law and intellectual property right law.

The Faculty established a post-doctoral station in 1992, began to enroll foreign students in 1998 and students from Hong Kong, Macao and Taiwan in 2000. In 2003, the Faculty was approved by the Degree Committee of the State Council to award J.M. Degree. It began to enroll fulltime J.M. students in 2004 and on-the-job J.M. students in 2005.

In cooperation with the relevant research departments, research centers and the Department of Research Administration and Foreign Affairs of the Institute of Law and the Institute of International Law, the Faculty also accepts visiting scholars both from China and from abroad.

Many staff members of the Faculty are nationally or internationally famous experts and scholars. Some of them have been awarded the tile of "national-level experts with outstanding contributions", some are members of the Standing Committee of the National People's Congress, delegates to the National People's Congress, or members of the National Committee of the Chinese People's Political Consultative Conference; some hold important positions in famous international organizations such as the International Trade Arbitration Organization or International Association of Constitutional Law; some are chairpersons or vice chairpersons of important academic associations in China, such as China Law Society, Chinese Law History Society, research committees of jurisprudence, constitutional law, civil law, commercial law, economic law, intellectual property right law, comparative law, procedure law, and legal education of the China Law Society; and some are part-time professors and supervisors of Ph.D. candidates in other colleges and universities.

The Faculty consists of two committees, namely Degree Evaluation Committee and Teaching Committee, and other functional bodies, including an Office of J.M. Program and a Post-doctoral Station.

The previous deans of the Faculty were, successively, Rui Mu, Wang Shuwen, Wu Jianfan, Han Yanlong, Xia Yong, and Wang Minyuan. The currently Dean of the Faculty is Li Lin, the Executive Deputy Dean is Ji Xiangde and Deputy Dean is Cui Yanyun.


Address: 15 Shatan Beijie, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100720, China.

Telephone: +86 10 6405 4224 Fax: +86 10 6401 4045